ryyxyitf

Moderator: Angel

Samsung56Fix

My successful repair story - Bad Color Wheel

Post by Samsung56Fix » Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:01 pm

Intro : I am making this post in the hopes that it will help someone out there troubleshoot their Samsung DLP. FYI, I’m no expert, just someone who was able to fix their set after reading many posts on this site (and others).

Situation : I purchased a 56” DLP from Costco in Oct 2005, for about $2400. It ran flawlessly until May 2010, when it started shuting off (power cycling) and flashing the 3 lights of death. After reading up online about the issue, I did the standard cleaning of dust, which had no effect. Please note, don’t be afraid to pop the back off the tv and dust more thoroughly than I did…it’s held on with about 16-18 screws and comes on/off pretty easily. Next thing I tried was to point a fan at the back of the set, to further explore the overheating issue. This initially helped, but only in that the tv would run for about an hour before shutting off (versus 15 minutes or so without the fan). At this point, based on what I had read on-line, my next steps would be to: 1) replace the lamp, 2) replace the ballast, or 3) replace the color wheel. As for item 3, I never got the horrible grinding noise that many mention when I color wheel goes back, so I discounted that item.